Nishan-e-Haider: The Prestigious Award

Nishan-e-Haider: The Prestigious Award

Nishan-e-Haider is the greatest military award of Pakistan granted to those military soldiers who have shown extraordinary acts of valor and bravery during a war or when the integrity of the country was in danger. It is conferred posthumously and so far merely ten brave people have acquired it. Out of these 10; 9 are from the institute of Pakistan Army and one is from the Air Force. Nishan-e-Haider is made from the gun metal surrendered by the rival.

The 1st recipient of this greatest military order was Captain Muhammad Sarwar Shaheed who sacrificed his life defending the country in the state Kashmir war of 1948 year.

Major Muhammad Tufail Shaheed was also granted the Nishan-e-Haider for his heroism actions though not in a battlefield. He invaded an illegally setup place at night along with his people; though fatally injured; he sustained to command his soldiers and got victory in driving out the enemy.

Aziz Bhatti was another prominent brave major of the institute Pakistan Army who accepted martyrdom during the war of 1965 while resisting every step of the enemy. He was granted Nishan-e-Haider for his astonishing valor.

Major Muhammad Akram Shaheed acquired Nishan-e-Haider for his valor and bravery during the war of 1971 with the country India. He courageously commanded his troops till his death.

Pilot Officer Rashid Minhas is the mere recipient of Nishan-e-Haider who belongs to the Air Force. During a test flight, his plane was hijacked and attacked by his Bengali director or instructor. Rashid Minhas on identifying his purposes informed the control tower and interrupted with the control of the planes causing it to air crash.

Major Shabbir Sharif Shaheed was believed to be one of the courageous majors of the Pakistan Army. His acts of bravery and military acumen earned him the greatest military award even the enemy appreciated his bravery calling him “a true soldier”.Nishan-e-Haider: The Prestigious Award

Sawar Muhammad Hussain Shaheed was a jawan in the institute of Pakistan Army who was granted Nishan-e-Haider for his amazing acts of bravery during the war of 197. He ruined 16 enemy tanks before coming under direct fire of rival’s machine guns.

Lance Naik Muhammad Mahfuz Shaheed was another recipient who was given Nishan-e-Haider for his heroics in the war of 1971 between the countries India and Pakistan. He stepped into the enemy bunker and ruined it.

Nishan-e-Haider was conferred on Captain Karnal Sher Khan Shaheed for his bravery deeds during the war of 1999 Kargil. Even the Indian Army appreciated his bravery and it is stated that this honor was given on the suggestion of the Indian Army.

Havaldar Lalak Jan Shaheed met martyrdom in the line of duty during the war of 1999 Kargil. He appealed the officials to deploy him on the front position from where he courageously thwarted the rival advances. He was the last recipient of this heroic award.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here